Montenegro is a country located in the Southeastern Europe on the coast of Adriatic Sea of Balkan Peninsula. It is bordered by Serbia to the northeast, Kosovo to the east, Croatia and Bosnia and Herzegovina to the northwest and Albania to the southeast. It is divided from Italy by the Adriatic Sea at the southwest. Montenegro declared independence on 3 June 2006, following a referendum held on 21 May 2006.

Its capital and in the same time its largest city is Podgorica, with 185,937 inhabitants according to the census held in 2011, while Cetinje is designated as Prijestonica, meaning the former Royal Capital City.

Area: The territory of Montenegro occupies approximately 13,812 km².

Borders: 293.5 km coastline and land borders of 614 km.

Climate: In the north, continental climate; central part, continental and Mediterranean climate, along the coast Adriatic climate,

Population: According to the last population census, Montenegro has 620,029 inhabitants.

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Policy: Montenegro is a parliamentary democracy based on a constitutional and legislative frame work, which is largely in line with European principles and standards. In Montenegro, the government is arranged in accordance with the rule of the division of power into legislative, executive and judicial. Legislative power is vested in the Assembly, the executive power in the Government and the judicial in the courts of law of Montenegro.

Foreign Policy: Montenegro is a member of the United Nations, the Organization for Security and Cooperation, the Council of Europe and the Union for the Mediterranean. In December 2009 MAP  (Membership Action Plan for NATO) was signed which represents the final stage prior to membership in NATO.

In October 2007 Stabilization and Association Agreement with the European Union was signed, which entered into force in May 2010 after being ratified by all member states. Montenegro is a signatory of the CEFTA 2006 Agreement, as well as free trade agreements with EFTA countries, Turkey, Russian Federation and Ukraine.

At the 8th WTO Ministerial Conference was held in Geneva on 17th December 2011 approved accession of Montenegro to the WTO. The Montenegrin Parliament adopted the Law on Ratification of the Protocol on the Accession of Montenegro to the Marrakesh Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization on 27 February 2012, and the instrument of ratification was submitted to the WTO on 30 March 2012. Montenegro become a full member of WTO on 29 April 2012.

Montenegro applied for membership in the European Union in December 2008 and received candidate status in December 2010. The Council of the European Union adopted a decision on the opening of accession negotiations with Montenegro on June 29, 2012 which confirms the progress achieved by Montenegro in the reforms and the current process of European integration.